2020 Nobel Prize announcement dates and winners list

thenobel

Image credit- nobelprize.org

The Nobel prizes are announced in the starting weeks of October each year. 6 Nobel prizes are announced over 6 different days. The Nobel Prizes include: The Nobel prize in Medicine, physics, chemistry, Literature, Peace and economics.

This year, the 6 prizes will be announced one by one from 5-12th of October


Announcement dates and times

Physiology or Medicine – Monday 5 October, around 11:30 CEST (3:00 PM IST)
Physics – Tuesday 6 October, around 11:45 CEST (3:15 PM IST)
Chemistry – Wednesday 7 October, around 11:45 (3:15 PM IST)
Literature – Thursday 8 October, around 13:00 CEST (4:30 PM IST)
Peace – Friday 9 October, around 11:00 CEST (2:30 PM IST)
Economic Sciences – Monday 12 October, around 11:45 CEST (3:15 PM IST)


When are they awarded?

The Nobel prizes are awarded on 10th of December in Stockholm, Sweden, the birthplace of the founder of the Nobel Prize, Alfred Nobel


2020 winners

Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 

Nobel Prize in Medicin Winners
Image credit: nobelprize.org

Announced on 5th October, 2020

The prize has been awarded jointly to Harvey J. Alter, Michael Houghton, and Charles M. Rice for the discovery of Hepatitis C virus.

There work is already saving millions of lives around the globe!

Read more about the Nobel prize in Physiology and Medicine and the discovery of Hepatitis C here


Nobel Prize in Physics 

Nobel prize in physics winners
Image credit: nobelprize.org

Announced on 6th October, 2020

This year’s Nobel prize in physics is being shared by three Nobel laureates- Roger Penrose, Reinhard Genzel and Andrea Ghez- for their contributions to the discovery of black holes.

Roger Penrose is being awarded half of the Nobel Prize in physics “for the discovery that black hole formation is a robust prediction of the general theory of relativity”

Reinhard Genzel and Andrea Ghez are being awarded 1/4th of the prize each for their ” discovery of a supermassive black hole at the centre of our galaxy”

Read our full article on the 2020 Nobel Prize in Physics here


Nobel Prize in Chemistry 

2020 Nobel prize in Chemistry
Winners of the 2020 Nobel Prize in Chemistry

Announced on 7th October 2020

The 2020 Nobel prize in chemistry has been awarded to Emmanuelle Charpentier and Jennifer A. Doudna “for the development of method for genome editing”


Nobel prize in Literature 

TBA


Nobel prize in Peace 

TBA



Nobel prize in Economic Sciences 

TBA

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *